• Sal_1976 - My CFS Story

I have been sickly for most of my life and with hindsight I would say I've had CFS on and off since childhood though I wasn't diagnosed until I was 31, 4 years ago.

I will concentrate on my CFS life since the age of 30. My 20's were relatively health problem free and I lived life to the full. My life was a social whirl and I managed to get by on very little sleep and caffeine. In my late 20's allergies and intolerances started (no idea if this links with the CFS or if it is a huge coincidence). I studied for a BA (hons) degree in my late twenties and decided to go on to do a masters degree. The 4 months between finishing my BA and starting my masters were extremely stressful (house move, relationship breakdown, emotional stress, money worries) and I personally feel that I suffered emotional burnout. By the time I started my masters degree I felt lethargic but looking forward to my studies.

I was 2 weeks into the masters course when the problems began. I woke up one morning and couldn't stand up and felt extremely nauseous and dizzy. I was diagnosed with Labyrinthitis. I had these symptoms for 6 weeks before they dissipated, but I was left feeling drained. I went back to resume my studies and then 2 weeks later I was struck with overwhelming dizziness, light/noise sensitivity, vomiting, hot/cold etc etc. (Unfortunately it took doctors 2 and a half years to diagnose all sensory migraines and CFS).

What I can't believe is that the first GP who mentioned I could have CFS simply said 'you have CFS, don't worry about it'. No mention of possible therapies etc and he didn't explain anything about the condition to me. It took another 2 years of fighting and doggedly nagging doctors for help before I was diagnosed.